Navigate Up
Sign In
Healthcare

Leading-edge healthcare for all | Compulsory basic health insurance: ‘LaMal’ Additional optional insuranceDownload the ‘Health Guide Switzerland’ (in 18 languages) | Useful links  

 

Leading-edge healthcare for all


The Swiss healthcare system is one of the most modern and efficient in the world. The country ranks second internationally for the best ratio of hospital services to population needs according to a 2010 study by the leading International Business School (IMD). Highly trained and skilled healthcare professionals provide high-quality care. Materials and equipment used are at the forefront of technology and patients benefit from short waiting times.

Healthcare in Neuchâtel is characterized by accessibility and availability, thanks to Hôpital neuchâtelois which has seven different sites and an extensive network of general practitioners, specialists and private practices. Special interventions are carried out at the reputable university hospitals of Lausanne (CHUV) and Bern (Inselspital), both less than an hour away.

[top]

 

Compulsory basic health insurance: ‘LaMal’


Each resident in Switzerland must take out health insurance for themselves and their family, with an insurer of their choice. A large choice of insurers offer rates according to different parameters such as age, sex, canton of residence or the amount of the annual deductible amount, called a ‘franchise’.

The benefits of this basic coverage, known as ‘LaMal’, are governed by Swiss law and are strictly identical from one health insurer to another. Access to care, including specialists, is guaranteed regardless of income. The legal provisions of LaMal are very stringent, so as to avoid discrimination. Insurers are not allowed to refuse or exclude anyone, or change their monthly premiums in case of illness. In addition, insurers are not allowed to ask individuals to fill out a health questionnaire.


Note that medical care for accidents is covered by the employer’s insurance.

[top]

 

Additional optional insurance

 

Those that wish to take advantage of specific treatments (such as complementary or alternative medicine, private dental care, private clinic access, etc.) can take out additional insurance. Various optional covers are available, depending on the services chosen. Contrary to the basic health insurance, health insurance companies may request that individuals fill in a health questionnaire for this additional coverage.

[top]

 

Download the ‘Health Guide Switzerland’ (in 18 languages)

http://www.migesplus.ch/index.php?id=14&uid=131&L=1

 

Useful links

 

Hôpital Neuchâtelois  

http://www.hopital-ne.ch/


Hôpital de la Providence

http://www.providence.ch/


Clinique de la Tour

http://www.clinique-tour.ch/


Clinique Montbrillant

http://www.clinique-montbrillant.ch/


Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois

http://www.chuv.ch/


Inselspital

http://www.insel.ch/

[top]

Connexion
Santé

Une médecine de pointe accessible à toute la population | Assurance de base obligatoire « LaMal » | Assurance complémentaire facultative | Health Guide Switzerland à télécharger en 18 langues | Liens utiles

 

Une médecine de pointe accessible à toute la population


Le système de santé suisse est l’un des plus modernes et performants au monde. D’ailleurs, le pays se classe au 2e rang international en termes d’adéquation entre ses infrastructures hospitalières et les besoins de la population, selon l’étude 2010 de l’International Leading Business School (IMD). Particulièrement bien formés et compétents, les professionnels de la santé dispensent des soins d’une grande qualité. Le matériel et les équipements utilisés sont à la pointe de la technologie, et les délais d’attente très courts.


A Neuchâtel, la santé joue la carte de la proximité avec l’Hôpital neuchâtelois, présent sur sept sites et couplé à un vaste réseau de généralistes, de spécialistes et de cabinets privés. Pour les interventions spéciales, les très réputés hôpitaux universitaires Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois (CHUV) de Lausanne et l’Hôpital de l’Ile à Berne sont à moins d’une heure.

[top]

 

Assurance de base obligatoire « LaMal »

 

Chaque résident doit contracter une assurance-maladie pour lui et sa famille, auprès de la caisse de son choix. Les nombreux assureurs proposent des tarifs variant selon différents paramètres, comme l’âge, le sexe, le canton de domicile ou le montant de la franchise annuelle.

 

Les prestations de cette couverture de base appelée « LaMal » sont régies par la loi suisse, et sont rigoureusement identiques d’une caisse-maladie à une autre. L’accès aux soins, y compris par des spécialistes, est garanti indépendamment du revenu. Les dispositions légales de la « LaMal » sont très strictes afin d’éviter toute discrimination. Ainsi, les assureurs n’ont pas le droit de refuser une personne, ni de l’exclure ou d’adapter sa prime mensuelle en cas de maladie. De plus, elles n’ont pas le droit d’exiger un questionnaire de santé.

 

A noter que les soins médicaux découlant d’un accident sont pris en charge par l’assurance de l’employeur.

[top]

 

Assurance complémentaire facultative

 

Les personnes désirant bénéficier d’une prise en charge particulière peuvent contracter une assurance complémentaire. Différentes couvertures facultatives sont proposées, selon les prestations souhaitées : médecines parallèles, soins dentaires, traitement en clinique privée etc.

 

Contrairement à l’assurance de base, les caisses-maladie peuvent exiger un questionnaire de santé lors de la conclusion d’une couverture complémentaire.

[top]

 

Health Guide Switzerland à télécharger en 18 langues

http://www.migesplus.ch/index.php?id=14&uid=131&L=1

 

Liens utiles


Hôpital Neuchâtelois

http://www.hopital-ne.ch/

 

Hôpital de la Providence

http://www.providence.ch/

 

Clinique de la Tour

http://www.clinique-tour.ch/

 

Clinique Montbrillant

http://www.clinique-montbrillant.ch/

 

Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois

http://www.chuv.ch/

 

Hôpital de l‘Ile

http://www.insel.ch/

[top]