Navigate Up
Sign In
Higher education

Leading universities and colleges | Prerequisites for higher education | University of Neuchâtel | Institute of Microengineering at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale (IMT - EPFL) | Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL)Haute Ecole Arc | Haute Ecole Pédagogique (Teacher Training College) (HEP-BEJUNE) | International School of Hotel Management (IHTTI) | Other key educational establishments located in the region

Leading universities and colleges

 

Switzerland consistently ranks in the top listings of international education and training. The country’s polytechnics and universities are the ones most frequently cited, but other major colleges (Hautes Ecoles) are open to students, providing recognized qualifications in at least 45 European countries, in line with the Bologna Process.

[top]

 

Prerequisites for higher education

 

To enter universities, federal institutes of technology, universities of applied sciences (UAS) and teacher training colleges (HEP), students must provide proof of a Matura or high-school diploma (equivalent to A-Levels certification, in the UK). This certificate is usually acquired after three years of study in high school or college, once compulsory secondary education has been completed.

 

The canton of Neuchâtel has 3 high-schools, or ‘lycées’

Lycée Jean-Piaget, Neuchatel

Matura French or bilingual French-German

 

Lycée Denis de Rougemont, Neuchatel and Fleurier
Matura French or bilingual French-English

 

Lycée Blaise-Cendrars, La Chaux-de-Fonds

Matura French, bilingual French-German or bilingual French-English

Students can also apply to a University of Applied Sciences (HES) if they hold a specialized Matura or high-school diploma as proof that they hold a certificate of general education. The Lycée Jean-Piaget - which includes the Neuchatel School of Economics (NCSE) and the Graduate School Numa-Droz (ESDN) - provides specialized Matura diplomas, as well as professional commercial Matura. These colleges offer programmes in French or in French and English.

[top]

 

For those wishing to go on to further education, the main universities based in or near Neuchâtel are:

 

University of Neuchâtel

 

With an international reputation, Neuchâtel University hosts the following five faculties:

• Literature and Humanities
• Science
• Law
• Economics
• Theology

Various Bachelor, Masters and doctoral-level programmes (PhD and continued learning) are available, depending on the course chosen.

 

Neuchâtel University offers a MAS (Master of Advanced Studies) in international taxation (Executive Master in International Taxation) that is unique in Switzerland, with courses available in English given by Swiss and international experts.

 

In addition, a Masters in International Business Development is also available, which specifically meets the needs of companies.

www2.unine.ch

[top]

 

Institute of Microengineering at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale (IMT - EPFL)

 

Located on two sites, in Neuchâtel and Lausanne, the Institute of Microengineering at EPFL (IMT-EPFL) is the largest academic institution in Switzerland for microengineering, with 23 laboratories and nearly 400 members. The university training of the engineers and researchers here is based on multi-disciplinary skills across three key pillars: micro and nano-technologies, optics and robotics.

 

The Neuchâtel campus houses the following laboratories:

• Photovoltaics and Thin Film Electronics Laboratory of Prof. Christophe Ballif
• Sensors, Actuators and Microsystems Laboratory of Prof. Nico de Rooij
• Integrated Actuators Laboratory, of Prof. Yves Perriard
• Microsystems for Space Technologies Laboratory of Prof. Herbert Shea
• Optics and Photonics Technology Laboratory of Prof. Dr Hans Peter Herzig
• Electronics and Signal Processing Laboratory of Prof. Pierre-André Farine

http://sti.epfl.ch/page-1674-fr.html

[top]

 

Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL)

 

With nearly 8,000 students, faculty and staff of about 120 nationalities, EPFL is one of the most cosmopolitan technical universities in the world. Located in Lausanne, 40 minutes from the city of Neuchâtel, it is home to seven faculties:

• Science and Technology Engineering (STI)
• College of Management of Technology (CDM)
• Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering (ENAC)
• Basic Sciences (SB)
• Computing and Communications Sciences (I & C)
• Life Sciences (SV)
• College of Humanities (CDH)

EPFL offers 13 Bachelor courses and 22 Masters degrees. In addition, the Graduate School enables doctoral students in the same discipline to work within a community that goes far beyond their laboratory.

 

Combining ongoing basic research and engineering, EPFL offers unique conditions that encourage cross-disciplinary research. With more than 350 laboratories and research groups on campus, EPFL is one of the most innovative and productive institutions in the world for science; it ranks among the top 3 in Europe, and in the top 20 rankings for science, internationally.

 

www.epfl.ch/index.en.html

[top]

 

Haute Ecole Arc

 

The Haute Ecole Arc has its training facilities in Neuchâtel (main campus) and in Delémont (satellite), and its ARD activities on the sites of Neuchâtel, La Chaux-de-Fonds, Le Locle and Saint-Imier. They provide the following four main areas of higher education:

Engineering
Bachelor in Microengineering, Bachelors in IT and Bachelor in Industrial Design Engineering, as well as numerous postgraduate courses, such as the MAS (Master of Advanced Studies) and CAS (Certificate of Advanced Studies)

 

Management

Bachelors in Business Economics, Bachelor in IT Management and different post-graduate courses, such as EMBA, MAS and CAS, as well as on-going learning courses.
 

Conservation-restoration

Bachelor and Masters in Conservation-restoration, as well as on-going learning courses.

 

Health
Bachelors in Nursing Care, as well as other courses, post-graduate MAS and CAS, as well as on-going learning courses.

www.he-arc.ch

[top] 

 Haute Ecole Pédagogique (Teacher Training College) (HEP-BEJUNE)

 

With sites in Biel, Porrentruy and La Chaux-de-Fonds, the Haute Ecole Pédagogique or teacher training college in Bern (BE), Jura (JU), and Neuchâtel (NE), (HEP-BEJUNE) trains future teachers for primary, secondary schools and high schools or colleges as well as in special education. It also provides professional career training, development into educational research and various educational resources in its mediatheques.

 

www.hep-bejune.ch/

[top]

 

International School of Hotel Management (IHTTI)

 

The International School of Hotel Management Neuchatel IHTTI is a leading private hotel school in Switzerland and provides an ideal foundation and framework for studies in Hotel Management, Hospitality Management and Design Management. It offers courses in English over 1 to 3 years and degrees (notably Bachelor and PGD) that hold are highly regarded at an international level.

 

www.ihtti.ch

[top]

 

Other key educational establishments located in the region (50 to 125 km) include:

• The Universities of Bern, Lausanne, Geneva and Fribourg
• The University of Applied Sciences of Western Switzerland (HES-SO)
   which forms a network of 30 schools offering Bachelors, Masters and
   other degrees in six fields of study
• The Bern University of Applied Sciences (HES-BE) that forms a network
   of five schools offering Bachelors, Masters and other degrees in seven fields of study
• The University Hospital of Berne (Insel), Geneva (HUG) and Lausanne (CHUV)
• The Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva
• The Swiss Finance Institute in Geneva
• The Institute for Management Development (IMD) in Lausanne
• The High School of Applied Arts in Lausanne (ECAL)
• The Lausanne Hotel School (EHL) and Geneva Hotel School (EHG)
• Les Roches-Gruyère University of Applied Sciences (LRG) in Glion and Bulle
• The International Institute of Management and Technology (IIMT), Fribourg

[top]

Connexion
Formation supérieure

Des universités et hautes écoles de premier plan | Prérequis pour accéder aux études supérieures | Université de Neuchâtel | Institut de Microtechnique de l’Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale (IMT-EPFL) | Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)Haute Ecole Arc | Haute Ecole Pédagogique (HEP-BEJUNE) | School of Hotel Management (IHTTI) | Autres grandes écoles à proximité

 

Des universités et hautes écoles de premier plan


La Suisse se classe régulièrement dans les classements de tête des baromètres internationaux  d’éducation et de formation. Si ses écoles polytechniques fédérales et universités sont le plus souvent citées, d’autres grandes écoles de haut niveau s’offrent aux étudiants, et dispensent des diplômes reconnus dans pas moins de 45 pays européens, conformément aux accords de Bologne.

[top]

 

Prérequis pour accéder aux études supérieures


Pour accéder aux universités, écoles polytechniques fédérales, hautes écoles spécialisées (HES) et hautes écoles pédagogiques (HEP), les étudiants doivent justifier d’une maturité gymnasiale. Celle-ci s’acquiert au terme de trois ans d’études dans un lycée, une fois l’école obligatoire en section maturité effectuée.

 
Le canton de Neuchâtel compte 3 lycées :


• le Lycée Jean-Piaget à Neuchâtel

maturité gymnasiale en français, ou bilingue français-allemand

• le Lycée Denis-de-Rougemont à Neuchâtel et à Fleurier

maturité gymnasiale en français, ou bilingue français-anglais

• le Lycée Blaise-Cendars à La Chaux-de-Fonds

maturité gymnasiale en français, bilingue français-allemand ou bilingue français-anglais

Les hautes écoles supérieures (HES) sont également accessibles par le biais d’une maturité spécialisée complétant un certificat de culture générale, voire par une maturité professionnelle. Le Lycée Jean-Piaget – qui regroupe l’Ecole supérieure de commerce de Neuchâtel  (ESCN) et l’Ecole supérieure Numa-Droz (ESDN) –  propose des maturités spécialisées, ainsi que des maturités professionnelles commerciales. Ces dernières peuvent être suivies en français, ou bilingue français-anglais.

[top]

 

Pour la suite des études, les principales grandes écoles basées à Neuchâtel ou dans ses environs sont :

 

Université de Neuchâtel

 
De réputation internationale, l'Université de Neuchâtel accueille les quatre facultés suivantes :

• lettres et sciences humaines
• sciences
• droit
• sciences économiques

Différents programmes de Bachelor, de Master et de 3e cycle (doctorat et formation continue) sont proposés, selon les filières.

 
Elle offre notamment des Masters en Finance, en Développement international des affaires ainsi qu'un Master unique en Suisse en sciences économiques, orientation politique économique (MScECON) destiné à donner les instruments d’analyse pour les décideurs. Certains cours sont dispensés en anglais.

 

http://www2.unine.ch/

[top]

 

Institut de Microtechnique de l’Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale (IMT-EPFL)

 
Situé sur deux sites, Neuchâtel et Lausanne, l’Institut de Microtechnique de l’EPFL (IMT-EPFL) est le plus grand institut académique suisse de microtechnologie, avec 23 laboratoires et près de 400 collaborateurs. La formation universitaire des ingénieurs et chercheurs porte sur des compétences pluridisciplinaires reposant sur 3 piliers : les micro- et nanotechnologies, l’optique et la robotique.


Le site de Neuchâtel accueille les laboratoires suivants :

 

• le laboratoire de photovoltaïque et couches minces électroniques du Prof. Christophe Ballif
• le laboratoire de capteurs, actuateurs et microsystèmes du Prof. Nico de Rooij
• le laboratoire d’actionneurs intégrés du Prof. Yves Perriard
• le laboratoire des microsystèmes pour les technologies spatiales du Prof. Herbert Shea
• le laboratoire d’optique appliquée du Prof. Dr Hans Peter Herzig
• le laboratoire d’électronique et traitement du signal du Prof. Pierre-André Farine

http://sti.epfl.ch/page-1674-fr.html

[top]

 

Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)

 
Avec près de 8 000 étudiants, des professeurs et des collaborateurs d’environ 120 nationalités, l’EPFL compte parmi les universités techniques les plus cosmopolites au monde. Située à Lausanne, à 40 minutes de la ville de Neuchâtel, elle accueille 7 facultés :


• Sciences et Techniques de l’Ingénieur (STI)
• Collège du Management de la Technologie (CDM)
• Environnement Naturel, Architectural et Construit (ENAC)
• Sciences de Base (SB)
• Informatique et Communications (I&C)
• Sciences de la Vie (SV)
• Collège des Humanités (CDH)

L’EPFL propose 13 formations Bachelor et 22 de degré Master. De plus, elle dispose d’une Ecole doctorale permettant aux doctorants d’une même discipline de travailler au sein d’une communauté qui dépasse largement le cadre de leur laboratoire.


Conjuguant en permanence recherche fondamentale et ingénierie, l’EPFL offre des conditions uniques pour stimuler les recherches transdisciplinaires. Avec plus de 350 laboratoires et groupes de recherche sur son campus, l’EPFL figure parmi les institutions les plus innovantes et productives au monde sur le plan scientifique. Elle se classe dans le top 3 européen, et dans le top 20 des classements scientifiques internationaux.

www.epfl.ch

[top]

 

Haute Ecole Arc

 
La Haute Ecole Arc déploie ses activités de formation à Neuchâtel (campus principal) et à Delémont (antenne) et ses activités de Ra&D sur les sites de Neuchâtel, La Chaux-de-Fonds, Le Locle et Saint-Imier. Quatre domaines de formation sont proposés :


Ingénierie

avec Bachelor en Microtechniques, Bachelor en Informatique et Bachelor in Industrial Design Engineering, ainsi que de nombreuses formations postgrades MAS (Master of Advanced Studies) et CAS (Certificate of Advanced Studies)

• Gestion

avec Bachelor en Economie d’entreprise, Bachelor en Informatique de gestion, et différents programmes d’études postgrades EMBA, MAS et CAS, ainsi que de formation continue

• Conservation-restauration

avec Bachelor et Master en Conservation-restauration, ainsi que des formations continues

 Santé

avec Bachelor en Soins infirmiers, ainsi que d’autres formations – postgrade  MAS, DAS et CAS et formations continues

[top]

 

Haute Ecole Pédagogique (HEP-BEJUNE)


Avec des sites à Bienne, Porrentruy et La Chaux-de-Fonds, la Haute Ecole des cantons de Berne, du Jura et de Neuchâtel (HEP-BEJUNE) forme les futurs enseignants du primaire, du secondaire 1 et des écoles de maturité ainsi que pour l'enseignement spécialisé. Elle assure également la formation continue, le développement de la recherche pédagogique et offre des ressources par ses médiathèques.
http://www.hep-bejune.ch/

[top]

 

School of Hotel Management (IHTTI)

 
L’Ecole Internationale de Gestion Hôtelière de Neuchâtel IHTTI est l’une des principales écoles hôtelières privées de Suisse et offre un cadre idéal pour poursuivre des études en hôtellerie, en gestion de l'accueil et dans le design management. Elle propose des formations en anglais de 1 à 3 ans et les diplômes qu’elle décerne – Bachelor et PGD notamment – jouissent d’un grand prestige à l’échelle internationale.
www.ihtti.ch

[top]

 

D'autres grandes écoles sont situées dans un environnement proche (50 à 125 km) :


• Les Universités de Berne, Lausanne, Genève et Fribourg
• La Haute Ecole Spécialisée de Suisse Occidentale (HES-SO) qui forme un réseau de 30 écoles proposant des Bachelors, Masters et autres diplômes dans six domaines d’études
• La Haute Ecole Spécialisée de Berne (HES-BE) qui forme un réseau de 5 écoles proposant des Bachelors, Masters et autres diplômes dans sept domaines d’études
• Les Hôpitaux Universitaires de Berne (Insel), de Genève (HUG) et de Lausanne (CHUV)
• L’Institut de Hautes Etudes Internationales et du Développement de Genève
• Le Swiss Finance Institute de Genève
• L’Institute for Management Development (IMD) à Lausanne
• La Haute Ecole d’Arts Appliqués de Lausanne (ECAL)
• Les Ecoles hôtelières de Lausanne (EHL) et de Genève (EHG)
• Les Roches-Gruyère University of Applied Sciences (LRG) à Bulle et Glion
• L’International Institute of Management and Technology (IIMT) de Fribourg

[top]