Navigate Up
Sign In
Open to the world

 

Centralized access to the European market | Neuchâtel: a tradition of diversity and multiculturalism | Bilateral agreements with the EU for the Free Movement of Persons and Goods | Useful links

 

Centralized access to the European market

 

In the heart of Europe, and a neighbour to Germany, France, Italy, Austria and Lichtenstein, Switzerland has long cultivated a climate of international exchange. The country’s position at the crossroads of major transport arteries provides unique access to the 490 million customers within the European Union (EU). In addition, the canton’s optimal time zone enables productive working relationships with Asia in the morning and the United States in the afternoon.

[top]

  

Neuchâtel: a tradition of diversity and multiculturalism

 

In the State of Neuchâtel, thanks to its status as a border state with neighbouring France, 23% of the population are non-Swiss nationals, 86% of whom are from the EU. The "Agreement for the Free Movement of Persons" signed between Switzerland and the EU has encouraged development and Neuchâtel citizens have demonstrated their openness to other cultures by offering non-Swiss nationals the right to vote, as well as eligibility for election at communal level.


French is the official language of the canton although English is frequently used within the workplace, due in part to the presence of numerous international companies and the quality of the Swiss education system. German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish are also spoken by a large proportion of the population.

[top]

 

Bilateral agreements with the EU for the Free Movement of Persons and Goods

 
Thanks to bilateral agreements signed in 1999 with the European Union, Switzerland benefits from all the advantages of free trade agreements whilst maintaining legal and financial independence.

 

The charter for the free movement of persons promotes an influx of highly qualified foreign workers and encourages a cosmopolitan environment conducive to business relations and exchanges with international markets. Agreements on the free movement of goods not only enabled access to a European market but marked an end to quotas and restrictions at customs. This represents a considerable advantage for Neuchatel which has a strong export tradition, and which will almost certainly increase the region’s growth and competitive position.

[top]

 

Useful links


Free movement of persons
http://www.bfm.admin.ch/bfm/fr/home/themen/fza_schweiz-eu-efta.html

 

Free Trade Agreements
http://www.seco.admin.ch/themen/00513/00515/01330/index.html?lang=fr


Population of foreigners in Switzerland
http://www.bfs.admin.ch/bfs/portal/fr/index/themen/01/22/publ/ausl/presentation.html

 

Immigration service
http://www.ne.ch/neat/site/jsp/rubrique/rubrique.jsp?StyleType=bleu&CatId=4105

[top]

Connexion
Ouverture internationale

 

Un accès central au marché européen | Neuchâtel - Canton multiculturel et polyglotte | Accords bilatéraux Suisse-UE  de libre circulation des personnes et des marchandises | Liens utiles

 

Un accès central au marché européen


Située au cœur de l’Europe avec l’Allemagne, la France, l’Italie, l’Autriche et le Liechtenstein pour voisins, la Suisse cultive depuis toujours les échanges internationaux. Sa position au carrefour des grands axes de transport routiers et aériens offre un accès privilégié aux 490 millions de consommateurs que compte l’Union Européenne (UE). De plus, située sur le fuseau horaire UTC+1, les entreprises suisses peuvent travailler sans contrainte horaire avec l'ensemble du monde:  l’Asie le matin, et les États-Unis l’après-midi.

[top]

 

Neuchâtel - Canton multiculturel et polyglotte

 

Neuchâtel, canton limitrophe avec la France, compte 23% de population étrangère, dont le 86% est issu de l’Union Européenne. Si les accords de libre circulation signés avec l’UE ont favorisé ce développement, le canton de Neuchâtel a manifesté de longue date son ouverture aux différentes cultures en accordant, par exemple, le droit de vote aux étrangers, ainsi que l’éligibilité au niveau communal.

 
La langue officielle du canton est le français mais l’anglais est couramment utilisé dans le milieu professionnel, grâce à la présence de nombreuses entreprises internationales et à la qualité du système éducatif suisse. L’allemand, l’italien, le portugais et l’espagnol sont également pratiqués par une tranche importante de la population, du fait des nombreux étrangers présents et du goût des Suisses pour les langues étrangères.

[top]

 

Accords bilatéraux Suisse-UE de libre circulation des personnes et des marchandises

 

Grâce aux accords bilatéraux signés en 1999 avec l’Union Européenne, la Suisse bénéficie de tous les avantages du libre-échange, tout en conservant une indépendance juridique et financière.


La libre-circulation des personnes favorise la présence de personnel étranger hautement qualifié, débouchant sur la création d’un environnement cosmopolite propice aux relations d’affaires avec les marchés internationaux.


Les accords de libre-circulation des marchandises ont quant à eux permis l'accès direct et facile au marché européen et mis fin aux quotas et restrictions douanières : un atout indéniable pour le canton de Neuchâtel, fortement orienté vers les exportations, qui voit ainsi sa croissance et sa compétitivité favorisées!

[top]

 

Liens utiles

 

Libre circulation des personnes
http://www.bfm.admin.ch/bfm/fr/home/themen/fza_schweiz-eu-efta.html

 

Accords de libre-échange
http://www.seco.admin.ch/themen/00513/00515/01330/index.html?lang=fr


Population étrangère en Suisse
http://www.bfs.admin.ch/bfs/portal/fr/index/themen/01/22/publ/ausl/presentation.html


Service des migrations
http://www.ne.ch/neat/site/jsp/rubrique/rubrique.jsp?StyleType=bleu&CatId=4105

[top]