Navigate Up
Sign In
Applied Research & Development (ARD)

Research: a top priority | Partnerships between science and industry | Swiss Center for Electronics and Microtechnology (CSEM) | EPFL Institute of Microengineering (IMT-EPFL) | Haute Ecole Arc | Neuchâtel University | Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL) | Swiss Foundation for Microengineering Research (FSRM) 

  

Research: a top priority

 

One of Neuchâtel’s strengths lies in its capacity for innovation, from product design right through to industrialisation. Research here is a top priority, supported by a longstanding economic policy that seeks to encourage development in sectors with strong added value such as electronics and microengineering, nanotechnologies, biomedical technologies, information and communication technologies (ICT), or environmental technologies.

[top]

 

Partnerships between science and industry

 

By encouraging the growth of local applied research institutes, academic structures and innovative companies, Neuchâtel leverages synergies between science and industry, thus promoting technology transfer (‘TT’) and organisational best practice. These partners enable researchers to finance their work and industrialise their inventions, whilst companies can develop novel products at low costs.

 

The Neode Science and Technology Park offers a perfect complement to this knowledge hub by housing start-ups and innovative project developers on two sites (Neuchâtel and La Chaux-de-fonds), placing a wide network of specialists at the service of fledgling companies and innovators.
www.neode.ch

 

Some of the research centres and academic structures that work hand-in-hand with companies based in Neuchâtel include.

 

Swiss Center for Electronics and Microtechnology (CSEM)

 

The core mission of CSEM is technology transfer (TT) and the Center plays a key role in innovation. A true platform for technology, CSEM’s competitive advantage lies in its interdisciplinary approach, providing high level scientists and engineers the necessary structures to develop products of the future.

From rapid prototyping to small series production, via creation of start-ups and spin-offs, CSEM offers a whole spectrum of services to researchers and industries facing challenges or who are keen to innovate. CSEM is particularly active in the domains of micro- and nanotechnology (MEMS, MOEMS), system and surface engineering and ultra low power electronics.
www.csem.ch/site/card.asp?nav=2468&title=Technology

[top]

 

EPFL Institute of Microengineering (IMT-EPFL)

 

Located on two sites, in Neuchâtel and Lausanne, the EPFL Institute of Microengineering (IMT-EPFL) hosts 23 laboratories and nearly 400 employees. Renowned the world over, IMT-EPFL develops technologies and works closely with industry through research mandates. The key areas of expertise are electronic circuits, electric motors, MEMS for space applications, microsystems, micro-vision and 3D, plasma processes for photovoltaics, and silicon sensors and actuators.

In Neuchâtel, these capabilities are developed for applications in the field of ‘green industrialization’. The site is also home to the renowned laboratory of Photovoltaics and Thin Film Electronics headed by Professor Christophe Ballif. The Lausanne site deals in other areas of specialization such as biomedical technology.
http://sti.epfl.ch/page-1674-fr.html

[top]

 

Haute Ecole Arc

 

The Haute Ecole-Arc contributes to innovation in the field of economics through its activities in applied research and development (aR&D), their overall service offering as well as knowledge and technology transfer (TT). The School’s activities in the field of engineering are organized around eleven research groups :

 
- User-Centered Product Design
- Production Equipment Design
- Lean and Industrial Processes
- Metrology & Industrial Vision
- Watch and Precision Engineering
- Medical Devices
- Surface Engineering
- Embedded-Computing Systems
- Interaction Technologies
- Data Analytics
- Image Processing & Computer Graphics


https://www.he-arc.ch/en/ingenierie/applied-research

[top]

 

Neuchâtel University

 

With an international reputation, the University of Neuchâtel houses five faculties: economics, law, humanities, literature, theology and science.

By placing a key emphasis on research, the university encourages exchanges between civic, academic and economic groups. This promotes valuable partnerships between companies and institutions active in areas such as technology, sustainable development and social sciences.

[top]

 

Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL)

 

EPFL, one of the world’s leading technical universities, based in Lausanne (40 minutes from Neuchâtel city), enjoys world renown and comprises over 340 laboratories organized in 30 institutes. Research carried out here often lead to practical applications in fields as diverse as biomedical technology, energy, processing and transmitting information, microelectronics and microsystems, new materials, robotics and other mechanical systems.
www.epfl.ch/

[top]

 

Swiss Foundation for Microengineering Research (FSRM)

 

With a mission to promote micro-technology and its applications, FSRM provides services that help support the development of engineers and research institutes. Through its extensive network of relationships, FSRM plays a leading role in promoting Swiss research. It is home to the Swiss network of micro and nanotechnology – the Swiss MNT Network  - and the inter-cantonal promotional platform, Micronarc.
www.fsrm.ch

www.swiss-mnt-network.ch

www.micronarc.ch

[top]

Naviguer vers le haut
Connexion
Recherche appliquée et développement

La recherche, une priorité | Des partenariats entre science et industrie | Centre Suisse d’Electronique et Microtechnique SA (CSEM) | Institut de Microtechnique de l’École polytechnique fédérale (IMT-EPFL) | Haute Ecole Arc | L'université de Neuchâtel |Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) | Fondation Suisse pour la Recherche en Microtechnique (FSRM)

 

La recherche, une priorité


L’une des forces de Neuchâtel réside dans sa capacité à innover, de la conception à l’industrialisation d’un produit. La recherche y est une priorité, soutenue par une politique de longue date visant à développer les secteurs à forte valeur ajoutée comme l’électronique et la microtechnique, les nanotechnologies, les technologies biomédicales, les technologies de l’information et de  communication (TIC) ou encore les technologies environnementales.

[top]

 

Des partenariats entre science et industrie

  

En concentrant sur son sol instituts de recherche appliquée, structures académiques et entreprises innovantes, Neuchâtel mise sur les synergies entre science et industrie, favorisant le transfert de technologies et de bonnes pratiques organisationnelles. Ces partenariats permettent aux chercheurs de financer leurs travaux et d’industrialiser leurs inventions, tandis que les entreprises peuvent développer des produits novateurs à moindres coûts.

 
Le parc technologique et industriel NEODE vient compléter cette émulation de savoirs en hébergeant sur deux sites (Neuchâtel et La Chaux-de-fonds) des start-up et porteurs de projets innovants et en mettant à leur disposition un vaste réseau de spécialistes.
www.neode.ch


Parmi les centres de recherche et structures académiques travaillant main dans la main avec les entreprises basées à Neuchâtel, citons notamment :

 

Centre Suisse d’Electronique et Microtechnique SA (CSEM)

 
Avec pour mission essentielle le transfert de technologies, le CSEM exerce un rôle de premier plan dans l'innovation. Véritable plateforme technologique, le CSEM joue la carte de l’interdisciplinarité, alliant scientifiques et ingénieurs de haut vol à la mise à disposition de structures nécessaires au développement des produits de demain.

 
Du prototypage rapide à la production industrielle de faibles volumes, en passant par la création de start-up et spin-off, le CSEM propose toute une palette de services aux chercheurs et aux industriels confrontés à des problèmes ou soucieux d'innover. Le CSEM est particulièrement actif dans les domaines des micro- et nanotechnologies (MEMS, MOEMS), de l’ingénierie des systèmes et des surfaces, et des systèmes électroniques à ultra basse puissance.

 
http://www.csem.ch/site/card.asp?nav=2468&title=Technology

[top]

 

Institut de Microtechnique de l’École polytechnique fédérale (IMT-EPFL)


Situé sur deux sites, Neuchâtel et Lausanne, l’Institut de Microtechnique de l’EPFL (IMT-EPFL) accueille 23 laboratoires et compte près de 400 collaborateurs. De renommée mondiale, l’IMT-EPFL développe des technologies de pointe et travaille en étroite collaboration avec l’industrie via des mandats de recherche. Ses principaux domaines de compétences sont les circuits électroniques, les moteurs électriques, les MEMS pour des applications spatiales, les microsystèmes, la micro-vision et la 3D, les processus plasma pour le photovoltaïque, les capteurs et actionneurs en silicium.


A Neuchâtel, ces compétences sont développées pour des applications dans le domaine de la « green industrialisation ». Le site abrite notamment le très réputé laboratoire de photovoltaïque et couches minces électroniques dirigé par le Prof. Christophe Ballif. Le site de Lausanne aborde quant à lui d'autres domaines de spécialisations comme par exemple les technologies biomédicales.


http://sti.epfl.ch/page-1674-fr.html

[top]

 

Haute Ecole Arc

 
La Haute Ecole Arc participe au processus d’innovation du monde économique par ses activités de recherche appliquée et de développement (Ra&D), de prestations de services, ainsi que de transferts de connaissances et de technologies (TT).
Ses activités dans le domaine de l’ingénierie sont regroupées dans quatre instituts :
- Institut des Microtechniques Industrielles (IMI-Arc)
- Institut des Microtechnologies Appliquées (IMA-Arc)
- Institut d’Horlogerie et Création (IHC-Arc)
- Institut des Systèmes d’Information et de Communication (ISIC-Arc)


http://ingenierie.he-arc.ch/ing_rad/recherche-appliqu%C3%A9e-d%C3%A9veloppement

[top]

 

L'université de Neuchâtel

 
De réputation internationale, l’Université de Neuchâtel accueille les cinq facultés suivantes : sciences économiques, droit, sciences humaines, lettres, théologie, ainsi que la faculté des sciences.

 
Par la valorisation de la recherche, l’Université favorise les échanges entre les milieux universitaires, économiques et citoyens. Il en résulte des partenariats importants, conclus avec des entreprises et institutions actives dans des domaines tels que la technologie de pointe, le développement durable et les sciences sociales.

 

http://www2.unine.ch/

[top]

 

Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)

 
De renommée mondiale, l’EPFL se compose de plus de 340 laboratoires organisés en 30 instituts. Les recherchées menées en son sein débouchent souvent sur des applications concrètes dans des domaines aussi variés que la technologie biomédicale, l’énergie, le traitement et la transmission de l’information, la microélectronique et les microsystèmes, les nouveaux matériaux, la robotique et les autres systèmes mécaniques.


http://www.epfl.ch/

[top]

 

Fondation Suisse pour la Recherche en Microtechnique (FSRM)

 
Avec pour mission la promotion de la microtechnique et ses applications, la FSRM fournit des prestations dans le perfectionnement des ingénieurs et des instituts de recherche. Grâce à son réseau de relations très étendu, elle joue un rôle de premier plan dans la promotion de la place scientifique suisse. Elle abrite notamment le réseau suisse de micro et nanotechnologie – Swiss MNT Network et la plateforme de promotion intercantonale Micronarc.


www.fsrm.ch
http://www.swiss-mnt-network.ch
http://www.micronarc.ch

[top]